Sweet Potato and Rosemary Biscuits

I have recently been introduced to another amazing food blog – SpoonForkBacon – http://spoonforkbacon.com/. Odd name but amazing recipe ideas!…. oh how I am jealous that these ladies get to spend their day blogging about food… one day… one day!

One recipe that caught my eye was the Sweet potato and Rosemary biscuits, just really for the ingredient combination, plus I am fascinated by the American idea of the biscuit. Here in the UK a biscuit is sweet, like the American cookie, but as far as I can tell the biscuit as featured here is very much like a scone! So to try my first biscuit I thought I would try this one!

The recipe from Spoon Fork Bacon can be found here http://spoonforkbacon.com/2013/02/sweet-potato-rosemary-biscuits/.

Sweet Potato and Rosemary Biscuits in a box

Being used to Imperial and Metric measurements, getting used to the ‘Cup’ system is quite strange. I do have cup measures randomly, but never used them. I have been trying to convert the measurements using good old Delia but it’s just too hard so I stuck with the cups! The recipe calls for 2-3 cups of sweet potato so I used just over 2 cups and found that  a little too much, I think when making again I would only use 1.5 – 2 cups of the potato otherwise the dough is too wet.

Despite the dough being a bit wet, and needing an extra 7/8 mins in the oven they turned out pretty well…. DAMN TASTY AS WELL! Especially hot out of the oven with butter on them. I have been serving them with the Tomato and Courgette soup I made not so long ago and froze ( I have stuck some of the biscuits in the freezer as well, hopefully they will defrost ok)

Sweet Potato and Rosemary Biscuits

Anyway, I recommend you try them, as they are something a little bit different and very yummy!

Leave a Reply

