Courgette and Parmesan Soup

My biggest fear is one day waking up and being lactose intolerant and not being able to indulge in the magic that is cheese! Fingers crossed that never happens otherwise I would have to put a ban on travelling to France, it would be just too painful. My heart always goes out to people who cannot eat cheese…. And do not understand people who do not like cheese… what is wrong with you!!

If I had my way I would add cheese to most things, or include a cheese course! I love when you go to a great restaurant and they wheel out the cheese trolley…. Amazing!  So whenever I come across a new recipe or brainstorm a new dish with cheese I get excited.

With soup season starting to take hold I am filling the freezer with all the old favourites, and one soup that it is good all year round, not just winter is my courgette and parmesan soup. I have seen some recipes that add cream or crème fraiche to theirs, but I find that the parmesan does the job and creates a light year creamy soup.

Courgette and Parmesan Soup

800g Courgette

1 onion (chopped)

1 garlic clove

1 litre chicken or veg stock

50g parmesan (grated)

Salt and pepper to season

Olive oil or oil spray

Chop the courgette roughly.

Getting the ingredients together
Getting the ingredients together

Then to a heated pan add a tablespoon of olive oil or a few sprays of oil spray and add the onion and garlic and sweat down for a couple of minutes until the onions start to go translucent. Once the onions start to soften add the courgette and continue to sweat down for a couple of minutes.

sweat the ingredients down in the pan
sweat the ingredients down in the pan

Add the stock and bring the mix to a simmer, season and stir. Leave the soup to simmer for 15-20mins until the courgette is soft.

simmer the soup!
simmer the soup!

Add half of the parmesan to the soup and blend until smooth, then add the rest of parmesan, season and stir until the cheese is fully mixed in.

getting my blending on!
getting my blending on!
and serve!
and serve!

Enjoy!

One thought on “Courgette and Parmesan Soup

  1. Pingback: Winter beating Broccoli and Stilton Soup | theambitioustraveller

Leave a Reply

