Winter beating Broccoli and Stilton Soup

This week marked the arrival of my new Wellington boots! hurrah! I can now walk across the common to work without fear of getting wet feet or ruining my cute pumps….. in your face Winter!! That’s right, I am now ready for anything that you may throw at me!

Winter Ready!

Winter Ready!

To continue my preparation for winter I have been filling the freezer ( much to the not so delight of my housemate) with lots of lovely warming winter soups. A couple of old favourites have made an appearance, including Mr Butternut Squash soup, and Courgette and Parmesan but this week I decided to make something new, broccoli and Stilton. I have had a massive chunk of Colston Basset Blue Stilton in my fridge since I attended the cheese tasting a couple of weeks ago and have been trying to decide what to do with it, so of course I concluded SOUP!

Like a lot of soups this is such an easy soup to make, its quick and delicious so there is no excuse not to like it. I know, I hear some of you say you do not like blue cheese, but hey, neither do I, but I love broccoli and Stilton soup. The cheese gives the soup a creaminess and depth but the cheese doesnt over power it so I dare Stilton haters to give it a go!

Ingredients

1 white onion roughly chopped

1/2 a leek roughly chopped

1 head of broccoli ( about 350g) chopped

1 litre vegetable stock

140g Blue Stilton Cheese

1. In a large pan sweat the onion and leek down for a couple of minutes in some oil, then add the broccoli to the pan. Then cover the broccoli with the vegetable stock and bring it all to a simmer.

Broccoli and Stilton soup

yummy broccoli!

yummy broccoli!

2. Cook the broccoli for 15 minutes until tender and then crumble the cheese into soup and stir. Add some black pepper to season, do not add the salt yet. The cheese is quite salty so you may not need to add any salt.

Soupy goodness cooking away!

Soupy goodness cooking away!

now add that cheese!

now add that cheese!

3. Get the handy hand blender out and whizz until smooth. Give the soup a taste and season as appropriate. Serve the soup hot with a big chunk of bread!

blend until smooth

blend until smooth

Yum!

Yum!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

