Homemade Granola

I feel like I may be taking my attempt at being a domestic goddess to a whole new level, I have made my very first homemade granola! I know I was shocked at my dedication to homemade products as well. My weekday breakfasts usually consist of my favourite shop bought granola topped with banana or blueberries, not the most exciting thing but its quick and keeps me going until lunch which is great. So I decided it was time to see if I could make some myself and if it taste as good as the ready-made stuff – it has to right, I am putting time and effort into this and nothing chemical… fingers crossed!

So having trawled my many recipe books and the internet I got a good idea of what ingredients were needed, oats are obviously the base, then you need your liquid elements to make the oats stick and crunch. The options used in many recipes are honey or maple syrup, along with a touch of vegetable oil and sugar. I decided to go with honey, for no other reason than the maple syrup in my local supermarket was £5.99….. what!!! I had a mini rant to myself in the supermarket as I couldn’t believe it. I know maple syrup is expensive but that is crazy!  So with my honey, I headed to the tills. So I have my oats, I have my liquid elements that are going to make the oats stick together and the sweetness, now all I need are the extras. The great thing about making your own granola is adding all the things you like and leaving out the bits you don’t, which you cannot do with supermarket granola. After much deliberation and wandering up and down the baking aisle of the supermarket, I went with dried blueberries, dried strawberry, sunflower seeds, pistachios ( I had them hanging around in the cupboard from my trip to Turkey) and some coconut. Now all I have to do is make it!

Surprisingly for something that seems like it should be complicated to make, it isn’t. It was quick and easy and the results are totally worth it!

Ingredients

300g Oats

50g Sunflower seeds

handful of pistachio nuts

150ml Honey

2 tbsp veg oil

1 tsp vanila extract

1 tbsp dark brown sugar

50g desiccated coconut

100g dried berries

1. Preheat the oven to 150 degrees and line a baking tray with baking paper. In a bowl put the oats, crushed pistachios and sunflower seeds ( and any other seeds/ nuts you want to add). In a small pan add all the wet ingredients ( oil, honey, vanilla extract and sugar), heat on a low heat for a couple of minutes until the sugar is dissolved and all the elements are combined. Then pour over the oat mixture and mix until all the oats are coated in the liquid.

Love that you can add whatever you want to this bad boy!

Love that you can add whatever you want to this bad boy!

get all those liquids mixed together to create a sweet and sticky delight

get all those liquids mixed together to create a sweet and sticky delight

get mixing - make sure all the oats are covered in the sweet and sticky mix

get mixing – make sure all the oats are covered in the sweet and sticky mix

2. Pour the oat mix into the baking tray and spread out evenly, pop into the oven for 15 minutes. After 15 mins take the oats out of the oven and add the coconut and berries and mix until evenly distributed. Put the granola mix back into the oven for another 15 minutes.

into the oven we go

into the oven we go

now add those soft fruits and coconut

now add those soft fruits and coconut

3. Take the granola mix out of the oven, it should be golden brown and crunchy. Let the granola cool. Once completely cooled break the granola up and put it into an air tight container, it should last up to 1 month. You now have a yummy, sweet granola, full of all the things you love, so serve it for breakfast or eat it as a snack!

Granola!!!

Granola!!!

Breakfast just got exciting!

Breakfast just got exciting!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

