How is the year almost over?!

I am starting to panic… how is 2013 almost over? How is it almost 2014?! It’s crazy how time flies! With Christmas pretty much over ( I am back to work tomorrow), I am getting reminiscent. So much has happened and changed, yet some things have stayed exactly the same… in a good way! I hope that everyone had a great holiday break, lots of food and drink and time with the family! It was great going home this year, as always, the chance to be spoilt with my parents home cooking, gorgeous Christmas dinners, roasts, and pies, scrummy cheesecakes ( I really need a masterclass off that mother of mine!) and lots of bubbles to drink. I will be paying for this by having to live in the gym during January but it was worth it… it always is.

I love the smell of fresh Christmas trees!

I love the smell of fresh Christmas trees!

A touch of Christmas baking with gingerbread snowflakes

A touch of Christmas baking with gingerbread snowflakes

For me 2013 has been a pretty good year, I have changed jobs, this wee little blog has started to kick off, I am finally getting paid to write about the things I love and we actually had a summer whoop! At the beginning of 2013 I was desperate to leave travel and did, ended up working in publishing for a 6 months and in that time realised, travel was where I should be and lucky for me I managed to get back into the crazy world of travel.Travel is me, I am constantly planning trips, always looking at new destinations and love talking about it to the point where my family regularly threaten to gag me, so why on earth did I think I didn’t want to work in that industry! Well everything ended up as it was supposed and I am now back and working for a great little company, lets hope 2014 has lots of new travel to offer me!!

This last 12 months has also been great for my blog, I have reached so many new readers which is great – thank you for continuing to read what I write and comment. I love reading the comments and learning about your adventures as it just inspires me. I hope you will all stick around for another year, and let me know what you think as we go along. I have lots of cooking and travel stuff planned for 2014, and with a few new cook books under the Christmas tree this year there is going to be lots of time spent in the kitchen. I am determined to become a top-notch Lebanese food master, and will continue to work my way through Ottolenghi’s Jerusalem book, and hopefully towards the end of next year I can start planning my trip to Lebanon and Israel. There is also baking ahead, I will master the macaroon, it may end up with me and my housemate not being able to look at another macaroon again, but they will be darn good. Hopefully you will enjoy reading about these adventures and it will inspire you to keep going in your own travels and kitchen adventures.

With a Macaroon set under the tree for me, 2014 is the year to master the art!

With a Macaroon set under the tree for me, 2014 is the year to master the art!

A giant Lebanese cook book -  bring on all that yummy food!

A giant Lebanese cook book – bring on all that yummy food!

I am always discovering new blogs to follow and new inspiration for both food and travel so bring on 2014 and an inspirational year!

HAPPY NEW YEAR everyone!!! May 2014 be full of exciting and fun new things!

xx

Leave a Reply

