Spiced Pumpkin Loaf

In the excitement of finding tinned pumpkin back in November I went a bit crazy and stocked up on it as it’s not something supermarkets usually have post Christmas ( although having now found a Whole Foods Store near me they do seem to have a few cans hanging around all the time). However I have been pondering what to do with it as it’s not something that I would usually use – the excitement of finding it over took sensibility. But on the plus side it has meant that  I have spent the last few weeks looking for pumpkin recipes online and in my cookery books and decided that the first recipe I would try with my tinned pumpkin would be Pumpkin Loaf.

Now one little thing is…. I didn’t know at this point whether I would like Pumpkin – I have never had it, other than when stuffed in some ravioli. I know you are probably wondering why on earth I bought tinned pumpkin if I didn’t know whether I liked it. Well its all about trying new things isn’t it. The fact that it was tinned meant that it would last for a while and I could try it out in a few different things. So in my recipe search, the Pumpkin Loaf seemed to be a popular recipe with so many variations and for me a loaf is such an easy thing to make and on the plus side I can freeze it so I have slices whenever I want!( oh the magic of the freezer!)

Most of the Pumpkin Loaf recipes I found called on the use of spices such as ground cloves, cinnamon and nutmeg which for me screams autumn and Christmas, of course I am making this in February so we are heading to spring, but with the cold dark winter still surrounding us the smell of warm spices in the kitchen certainly makes things seem better. I settled on a recipe I found on Food52 as it was simple and adaptable ( the original recipe is in american cup measurements so I have adapted it to metric).

Ingredient

250g Plain Flour

60g Light Brown Sugar

225g Granulated Sugar

1tsp Baking Soda

1/2 tsp Ground Cloves

1tsp Ground Cinnamon ( I really like cinnamon so put a wee bit more than a teaspoon in)

1/2tsp Ground Nutmeg

80ml Vegetable Oil

275g Tinned Pumpkin Puree

1. Preheat the oven to 170degrees (fan oven) and spray a large loaf tin with cooking spray/oil and set aside.

2. In a large bowl mix together the flour, sugars, baking soda, cloves, cinnamon and nutmeg. In another bowl mix together the oil and pumpkin puree. Then pour the pumpkin/oil mix into the dry ingredients and stir until smooth. You will end up with quite a thick batter.

Spice up your life... oh no wait thats a song... Spice up your pumpkin!

Spice up your life… oh no wait thats a song… Spice up your pumpkin!

Hello dry ingredients

Hello dry ingredients

Mix the pumpkin and oil togehter

Mix the pumpkin and oil togehter

then mix everything together!

then mix everything together!

3. Spoon the mix into the loaf tin and smooth out the top. Bake it in the oven for 1hr 15mins or until a cake tester comes out clean. Once cooked remove from the tin and let it cool on a wire rack.

then into the oven it goes!

then into the oven it goes!

Hello Spiced Pumpkin Loaf!

Hello Spiced Pumpkin Loaf!

I found that even through the loaf is quite sweet it goes really well with savoury things like cheese, cream cheese or just slightly toasted with a bit of butter!  It also freezes really well. I have sliced mine up and put it in the freezer so I can take a slice out for a quick snack 🙂

Well this little loaf is moist, sweet and spiced, it’s certainly won me over to pumpkin and with another couple of tins of pumpkin puree in the cupboard watch this space for me playing around with the loaf recipe and other pumpkin based baked goods…. what about scones, or something with chocolate?? The possibilities are endless!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

