Accidental Discoveries – Chocolate and Peanut butter Gyoza

I love an accidental discovery, be it money in your handbag, a fabulous book or a great little coffee shop that soon becomes a regular haunt. My favourite kind of accidental discovery however, is creating a dish in the kitchen that wasn’t really intended but when finished is fabulous and quickly becomes a favourite. As someone who tends to create meals from random ingredients left in the fridge these little discoveries happen quite often 🙂

As I was stood in the kitchen making my little gyoza, I realised I had too much filling and not enough gyoza wrappers, so instead of leaving a small amount of pork filling that wouldn’t be any good for anything I left the bowl half full and instead with the remaining few gyoza wrappers my mind turned to alternate fillings…. I do have quite a lot of peanut butter in the cupboard….hrm! With David Bowie playing in the back ground ( I felt he was willing me on to make something naughty but nice) I got the peanut butter out of the cupboard and what else did I find but a couple of little caramelo koalas still hanging around at the back.

….. Side note – for anyone who doesn’t know what a caramelo koala is – it’s basically the Australian version of  Fredo the frog… except I forgot Australian chocolate is made so it doesn’t melt quite so easily, so the chocolate filling wasnt quite so melty as I would have liked! ……..

With caution to the wind I chopped up the caramelo koalas ( as an alternate use a fredo the frog, of some small pieces of chocolate or caramel) and placed a small piece in the centre of the gyoza wrapper, then I topped it with a small spoon of crunch peanut butter. Wet the edges of the wrapper and then seal the gyoza and crimp the edges.

look what I found in the cupboard.... peanut butter, caramelo koalas and some spare gyoza wrappers!

look what I found in the cupboard…. peanut butter, caramelo koalas and some spare gyoza wrappers!

Fill the wrappers with a little bit of peanut butter and some chopped up caramel... yum! feel free to lick the spoon after!

Fill the wrappers with a little bit of peanut butter and some chopped up caramel… yum! feel free to lick the spoon after!

Put a small amount of oil into a frying pan ( you can of course deep fry these if you are so inclined) and once the oil is hot put the gyoza in the pan – don’t do more than 5 or 6 at a time. Don’t let the pan get too hot you want them to brown but not burn, once the bottoms have gone brown and crispy flip them over onto their sides and let them brown for a couple of mins on each side.

Into the frying pan!

Into the frying pan!

Once golden brown all over take them out of the pan and dab them on kitchen paper to get the excess oil off, then dust them in  some icing sugar, and there you have it a very quick and easy desert or treat!!

and onto the plate!

and onto the plate!

The amazing thing about gyoza or wonton wrappers is you can fill them with anything, so you can experiment with the fillings, maybe some banana and nutella or caramel…. as long as the filling isn’t too wet you can put it in!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

