Weekend Antics

Weekends are a precious commodity! We spend Monday to Friday watching the clock, counting down the hours to home time on a Friday so we can celebrate the weekends, and then before you know it its Sunday evening and you are pondering the list of things sitting on your desk that need to be done on Monday morning. Weekends should be cherished, used wisely….. or on some occasional cases – not so wisely! With the bank holiday season in flow thanks to its start at Easter the extra time out of the office should be used for exciting adventures, catching up with friends and just plain old relaxing.

The May bank holiday next weekend is also the sign that summer is coming and that outdoor activities become a must to soak up all of that precious warm weather and sunshine! For me this weekend signaled the beginning of a fabulous summer of fun – it was my darling friend Ailsa’s hen party! We ladies journeyed to the beautiful city of Oxford for a weekend of high ropes and cocktails!

Ailsa enjoying her hen party at the high ropes!

Ailsa enjoying her hen party at the high ropes!

I have never done high ropes before so was very excited, but also a tiny bit scared. I am fine with heights but its the fear of falling that gets me, not sure why, especially as on these things you are harnessed in! Well it was a great day and we even got some sunshine which was brilliant – so after being stuck in a harness for 3 hours and a few rope burns we departed the high ropes and headed for the local pub, from here we went for a more glamorous look of little black dresses, heels and cocktails and what a fine evening it was. With the wedding only 4 weeks away the fun times have started!

Heading to the high ropes

Heading to the high ropes

So what else is coming up over the summer? I know so many people who are getting ready for the summer season of festivals and gigs. There is nothing better than live music, feeling the beat and dancing your socks off! I have no festivals in the calendar but I certainly have gigs booked in, Kelis in just over a week – whoop! I am especially looking forward to the Somerset House Summer Series – its such an amazing venue space, live music as the sun sets behind the fabulous architecture, one word – lush! There is also Jazz at Fulham Palace on the cards and I am hoping I continue my lucky streak and get tickets to the itunes festival this year ( fingers crossed).

Memories of past fun times at the i-tunes festival!

Memories of past fun times at the i-tunes festival!

It’s not only music that makes me tick, but food, and the summer is the perfect time to try out new recipes and encourage out-door eating in the form of PICNICS! Anyone that knows me, knows I love a picnic! Something to do with being raised on day trips, the cool box in the back of the car and the dashes to the car when the heavens open. Now I am not fussy and being very British I enjoy a car picnic when the weather is against you just as much as one in the sun on a blanket on the grass. With picnic season almost upon us I will be working on some new fabulous recipes, think tarts, salads and summer bakes, yum! The spring/ summer season inspires me every year to cook bright colourful food, like Peruvian spiced chicken with roast vegetables. Simples, tasty food that looks beautiful.

Scrummy Peruvian spiced chicken and roasted vegetables - simple spring cooking!

Scrummy Peruvian spiced chicken and roasted vegetables – simple spring cooking!

To top it off, I am also off to see my comedy heroes, Monty Python! Ok, I didn’t get tickets for the live shows but the Ritzy in Brixton is showing one of the nights live on the big screen so I am very much looking forward to seeing the amazing Pythons do their thing….. I will of course be spending at least one weekend on the run up glued to the television watching the Life of Brian and The Holy Grail, because at the end of the day the weekends are for relaxing and taking time to recover from those busy working days and whats better for relaxing that wine and laughing until it hurts!

So with the summer beckoning us to join it get your diary filled up with fabulous things, take advantage of those green spaces, pitch up with a blanket and friends and take in the fresh air and sunshine. When it’s not so great then explore, get out there and see new things, or take advantage of the rain and park yourself on the sofa for a few hours with something baked and a great film! With a diary filling up, I am very much looking forward to the next few months….. I just better remember to do some baking in between!

XXX

Leave a Reply

