Duck and Waffle

Located on the 40th floor of the Heron Tower is the UK’s highest restaurant, and that restaurant is Duck and Waffle.

I have been wanting to go there for a while as I only hear good things and lucky enough so did my sister so as her birthday present I took her there for lunch. We were blessed with the weather, gorgeous blue sunny skies, so the views out over London were superb! One of the things that they are known for is being open 24 hours……. the food was great but it’s definitely not the sort of grub I want at 2am when I have had a little bit too much to drink or danced my socks off…. but I guess everyone is different. I know people who have booked a table for 4am just so they can watch the sun rise over London, nice but I like my sleep, so I think I will stick to lunch and dinner visits.

So when you arrive you get up to that magical 40th floor by a dedicated super fast lift, yes your ears will pop a little, but going up the views are pretty cool of the City. To get to the restaurant you head through the bar area which is all open plan and basically a holding pen for those waiting for their table ( they do say on their website that you only get it for 2 hours if there are two of you, saying that we never felt rushed). The restaurant area itself is all open plan, with an open kitchen at one end and floor to ceiling windows on the other three sides. I would recommend requesting a window seat, however if there are more than two of you that won’t happen as its only tables of two around the windows, the bigger tables are situated in the middle of the restaurant. The views do not disappoint, and on a sunny day you can see the very edges of the city, it makes you remember why you love London town so!

View from Duck and Waffle

View from Duck and Waffle

Now of course what is a restaurant if it’s just all views and no substance – Duck and Waffle impressed as it had the views and the substance. The food was amazing and instantly decided after the first mouthful that I was going back! We were there for brunch so had the choice of breakfast or their brunch menu. As much as the Colombian eggs tempted me we decided on the brunch dishes. The house bread which was freshly baked, puffed up and delicious, accompanied our foie gras crème brulee ( possibly my new favourite thing) which was rich, creamy and sweet and hit all the right notes. The wild Cornish Pollock meatballs in a lobster cream sauce were light and flavourful, the lobster cream was rich but light and to round it all off so we were not completely comatose in cream and butter we opted for the smoked mozzarella salad which was fresh and completely the right thing to go with our rich dishes.

Fresh bread!

Fresh bread!

Pollock balls in lobster cream sauce - heaven"

Pollock meatballs in lobster cream sauce – heaven

Foie gras creme brulee my new favourite thing

Foie gras creme brulee my new favourite thing

Yum!!

Yum!!

We of course went for desert, you cannot go to a restaurant with waffle in the name and not have a waffle. I went for the banana waffle with caramelised banana, nutella and ice cream – divine, while my sister went for the rhubarb compote option.

fabulous banana and chocolate waffles

fabulous banana and chocolate waffles

The food just didn’t disappoint, it was simply presented and left all the impressions to the skill behind the cooking and flavour. This may be a hip place to go and you have to book months in advance to get a table but it has the substance behind it so you know what…. I just don’t mind!

Now I am no wine connoisseur, but the wine list is pretty hefty in price, however, the wine by the glass wasn’t too bad. The cocktail list is definitely worth checking out though, it has a list of the usual suspects but with the D&W spin on it, plus their own creations.

Overall this was a rather lovely visit. The staff were all very friendly and attentive, the food wonderful and of course you cannot argue with the views. I will definitely be returning and would recommend it to anyone that asks!

Leave a Reply

